General Information

Our academy was founded in 1966 and currently has active affiliations with 70 of the approximately 150 academic and community training centers that train pathology residents in clinical pathology.

From its origin, it has followed the mission statement of being dedicated to the advancement of teaching and scholarship in laboratory medicine. We follow the objectives of the academy. Since its inception, this dedication has been driven by the following objectives:

  1. To encourage and advance the highest standards of education in laboratory medicine in medical school and related curricula.

  2. To encourage and promote the highest standards of resident training and post-graduate education of physicians and scientists in clinical pathology at universities and medical schools.

  3. To encourage and promote the highest standards of service, education and research in academic laboratory medicine.

The academy has a single meeting a year, which is devoted primarily to young investigators and their budding careers. We invite all trainees in clinical pathology to consider application for membership. We invite all training programs who are training individuals toward board certification in clinical pathology to encourage their faculty and trainees about the opportunities available through the Academy.

Award Programs

The Paul E. Strandjord Young Investigator Award Program is designed to encourage young investigators to consider a career in academic laboratory medicine. Residents, fellows, and students in a doctoral program in health sciences, participating in research with a member of ACLPS or sponsored by an ACLPS member, are eligible. Students in programs leading to non-doctoral degrees conducting research with an ACLPS member may be considered upon written request from the ACLPS sponsor to the director of the Young Investigator Awards Program.

In addition to a meeting which is devoted to young investigators, the academy offers the following awards:

  • Cotlove Award
    This award is presented to a scientist (member or non-member of the academy) for outstanding contributions to the science of laboratory medicine.

  • Gerald T. Evans Award
    This award is presented annually to a member for outstanding leadership and/or service to the society.

  • Ellis Benson Award
    This award is presented to a young faculty member in recognition of meritorious accomplishment in the field of laboratory medicine.

More Information